Healthcare Gov Surge Expected On Enrol..
Benedict Cumberbatch S Smaug Sets Colb..
Lions' Waddle out for season with knee injury
By SP_COP on December 16, 2014 | From
Lions' Waddle out for season with knee injury Detroit Lions right tackle LaAdrian Waddle's injury-riddled season is over.

Waddle suffered a partially torn ACL in his left knee in Sunday's 16-14 win over the Minnesota Vikings and will miss the remainder of the year.

Lions coach Jim Caldwell would not divulge details of Waddle's injury at his news conference today, but he acknowledged, "It doesn't look good."

The Lions plan to place Waddle, who should be ready by the start of 2015 training camp, on season-ending injured reserve.

"That's a big loss," center Dominic Raiola said Sunday. "That's our guy out there. It sucks for him, and we're going to hurt for him. But we're totally confident in (Cornelius Lucas). He's had game experience this year. We look at him as a starter. He goes out there and he transforms into the starter. I'm happy for him, for his opportunity. It sucks for L.A."

Lucas, an undrafted rookie out of Kansas State, will take over as starting right tackle for the 10-4 Lions, who can clinch a playoff spot with a win over the Chicago Bears this weekend.

Lucas has started one game at left tackle this year, in place of Riley Reiff, and has filled in several times for Waddle on the right side.

Waddle got hurt on the Lions' third-quarter field goal drive Sunday, when a Vikings defender rolled into his leg. He couldn't put any weight on the leg as he stood up and was carted off the field.

Waddle also has missed time with two concussions, calf and ankle injuries this year. His backup, Corey Hilliard, was lost to a foot injury in Week 1.

Note: Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson is among eight finalists for the NFL's new Sportsmanship Award. Also among the finalists are Arizona Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerald; linebackers Thomas Davis of Carolina and Chad Greenway of Minnesota; safety Troy Polamalu of Pittsburgh; defensive end DeMarcus Ware of Denver; quarterback Alex Smith of Kansas City; and special teams ace Matthew Slater of New England. A panel of former players Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Warrick Dunn, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler selected the finalists from 32 nominees, one from each team. The winner will be determined by a vote of current NFL players and announced during the "NFL Honors" program Jan. 31....
Read Complete Story (