Birth Place:
Show more

Some Cut


American rap group TrillVille, comprising of Dirty Mouth (left the group in 2007, rejoined in the late 2009), Don P and Lil LA (aka. Lil Atlanta), is probably best known with their hit singles, “Neva Eva” and “Some Cut” (taken from the 2004 album “The King of Crunk & BME Recordings Present: Trillville & Lil Scrappy”). While “Neva Eva” becoming the group's first entry into the Billboard Hot 100 (#77), “Some Cut” rose to No. 14 on the chart and also made the Top 10 on both the US R&B and the US Rap charts. Founded in 1997, in Atlanta, Georgia, TrillVille was spotted by music producer and rapper Lil Jon and quickly signed with Lil Jon's label, BME Recordings. The group has parted ways with BME Recordings. TrillVille's second album, “Straight Up, No Chaser” (2008), was released on Mann Up Muzik/SMC Recordings.

Atlanta Origin

Childhood and Family:

Trillville was formed in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1997 by Dirty Mouth, Don P , and Lil LA (aka Lil Atlanta), while they were still in the ninth grade in high school. At the time of founding, the group had the intention of becoming “Gods of Crunk.” Dirty Mouth served as leader of the school's snare drum line and was already writing his own rhymes. Don P was rapping and producing beats from his keyboards, and Lil LA was a wishful promoter and later would become a rapper himself.

Straight Up. No Chaser


After seeing a live performance of TrillVille, Lil Jon signed them up to the Atlanta, Georgia based BME (Black Market Entertainment) Recordings, a record label founded by Lil Jon, Rob Mac, Emperor Searcy, and Vince Phillips in 2001. The group's first single, “Neva Eva,” featuring Lil Jon & Lil Scrappy, was released in 2003 and it peaked at No. 77 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song was used as the theme for the 2004 “Atlanta Braves.”

TrillVille's debut album, “The King of Crunk & BME Recordings Present: Trillville & Lil Scrappy,” was launched on February 24, 2004. The record, which was included guest appearances by Dirty South rappers like Lil Jon, Pastor Troy, and Bo Hagon, reached No. 12 on the Billboard 200 and was eventually certified gold by the RIAA. A split record with another BME Recordings artist Lil' Scrappy, the Trillville side contained 10 tracks, including “Neva Eva,” “Some Cut” and “Get Some Crunk in Yo System.” “Some Cut,”featuring Cutty, became the group's second charting single on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at No. 14. The song also reached No. 10 on the Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs and No. 3 on the Billboard Hot Rap Songs.

The same year, on November 2, 2004, TrillVille also released “The King of Crunk & BME Recordings Present: Trillville - Chopped & Screwed.”

In 2006, TrillVille released a single called “Nothing Less,” but the song failed to make it into any Billboard chart. It was followed by the similarly unsuccessful singles “Watch Me Do This,” “Heat It Up” and “I'm Pimpin.” The group's next studio album, “Trillville Reloaded,” was shelved for undisclosed reasons.

In 2007, Dirty Mouth departed the group to start a solo career. He would reunite with Trillville in the late 2009.

With two remaining members, TrillVille released the sophomore effort “Straight Up. No Chaser” on June 24, 2008 under Mann Up Muzik/SMC Recordings. The album was produced by Don P himself. The lead single “Money Line” was released digitally via iTunes on March 25, 2008.

On July 28, 2009, Lil' Atlanta released his solo debut album, “It'z Me.” He is an artist of SMC Recordings.


Show Less
© Retna